Ends on

$445.00 USD

This program annually highlights some of the best examples of structural engineering ingenuity throughout the world. Structural engineers and structural engineering firms are encouraged to enter the awards program. Projects are judged on innovative design, engineering achievement, and creativity.

All entry materials must be received by 3 p.m. CDT on Tuesday, July 13, 2021.

The entry fee is $445 and must be paid online.

Entry must be submitted by a licensed Professional Engineer (P.E.) or Structural Engineer (S.E.) whose practice or activity is primarily in the field of structural engineering. Projects must have been completed between January 1, 2018 and June 30, 2021, or must be sufficiently complete such that they clearly show the basic design of the structural system. The submittals will be judged based on the quality of the structural “design” portion of the project.  Projects that have been submitted in previous years may be entered in the current year's program.  Within the context of this awards program, “design” refers to the overall concept of any structure or structural system within a project. New projects, renovations, rehabilitation, structural upgrades and adaptive reuse of buildings, special use structures, and bridges are eligible. Projects may be located anywhere in the world. Multiple entries from the same firm will be accepted.

The selection of award recipients will be made by a distinguished Jury of Awards. There will be a minimum of five jurors. All jurors shall be structural engineers licensed as P.E.’s or S.E.’s.


  • Creativity of structural design (20%)
  • Complexity of criteria or unique problems (20%)
  • Innovative application of new or existing materials or techniques (20%)
  • Ingenuity of design for efficient use of materials and labor (20%)
  • Constructability challenges and solutions (20%)

The manner in which the above criteria apply to the entry should be described in the submitted documentation. 

Once the judging is complete, the winners of the top three projects in each category will be required  to provide NCSEA with the following items. These will be used in future publications, announcements and at the awards presentation ceremony:

The winners in each category will be required to provide NCSEA with the following items:

  • One poster (30”x 40”) for display at the 2021 NCSEA Structural Engineering Summit.
  • Credits that must be noted for all photographs.

The awards will be presented at the NCSEA Structural Engineering Summit at the Hilton Midtown in New York, NY. 

More about the entry process. 

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.