Please fill out the following information.

Questions? Please contact Katherine Ort ( 

The NCSEA Grant Program was developed to assist Member Organizations (SEAs) in growing their SEA and promoting the structural engineering field. The Grant Program is supported by the NCSEA Foundation, which was established in early 2020 to support the non-profit activities of NCSEA and its Member Organizations. The Purpose of the Foundation is to fund qualifying initiatives and activities that are intended to aid in the advancement of the science and practice of Structural Engineering as well as promote technical development, education, outreach, and engagement within NCSEA’s Member Organizations. The Foundation itself is supported by specialty ticketed events throughout the year as well as individual and corporate donations.

Any NCSEA Member Organization or member(s) of a Member Organization are eligible to submit a grant application. Applications must be submitted to the local Member Organization, reviewed and approved, and then forwarded (via this application) to NCSEA for consideration.

A grant request may be submitted for any program that is consistent with NCSEA’s Mission. Requests will not be accepted for political contributions or for the reimbursement of lobbying expenses.

Evaluation Process
A subcommittee of the NCSEA Board of Directors (Treasurer, at-large members and the Executive Director) will serve as the evaluation committee for the grant applications. Once the winning grants are selected by the subcommittee, they must be reviewed and approved by the NCSEA Board of Directors. In addition to the above information, several key factors will be evaluated with every grant application: 

  • How will the grant request advance the practice of structural engineering or strengthen your MO?
  • Is the grant request for MO operations funding (such as website updates, AMS improvements or a new computer)? If yes, the grant application must detail how the project is unique (and not just typical operational expense) and how the MO will communicate successes back to all other MOs to ensure knowledge transfer.
  • Are there matching funds from a local Member Organization, or is the grant request serving as the primary funding source for a project? 

Grant recipients will be contacted directly by a member of the subcommittee.

Additional historical information regarding the NCSEA Grant Program can be found here.

Finally, please read and agree to the "terms of use" statement, found at the end of this application, regarding the "Knowledge Transfer" requirements, when a grant is awarded.

Each year at NCSEA's Structural Engineering Summit, an award is given to recognize an outstanding Young Member Group from one of the NCSEA Member Organizations (SEAs). Young Member Groups (YMGs) that enter the contest will be evaluated on four categories. The emphasis of this award is to recognize Young Member Groups that are providing a benefit to their young members, Member Organization, and communities. Responses to each question are to have a maximum of 300 to 500 words describing their activities for the previous year (i.e. June 2019-May 2021). Previous Award recipients may apply.

Finalists will receive complimentary registration to send a representative to the Structural Engineering Summit, being held at the Hilton Midtown New York, October 12–15 & Virtually, September 27–October 21. Finalist groups also will receive a $1,000 travel stipend to use toward transportation and hotel costs. (Winning recipients only will receive the travel stipend for attending the in-person Summit).

The winning Young Member Group will be announced at the Summit and will receive an additional $2,500 for their Young Member Group to use for future activities. 

The 2021 Young Member Group of the Year Award is generously sponsored by Computers & Structures Inc.

For more information on the NCSEA Young Member Group Support Committee, click here.

NCSEA is offering scholarships to young members to this year's Structural Engineering Summit being held at the Hilton Midtown New York, October 12–15 & Virtually, September 27–October 21.  For more information on the NCSEA Young Member Group Support Committee, click here.

First-time scholarship recipients will receive free registration to the Summit which includes all educational sessions, access to the trade show, and an invitation to the NCSEA Awards Event, as well as a travel stipend of $1000 to use toward transportation and hotel costs. 

For those who have previously been awarded a scholarship, a returning scholarship would cover registration to the Summit only. 

The 2021 Young Member Scholarships are generously sponsored by Computers & Structures Inc.

(Scholarships only can be used for in-person registration)

To qualify for a scholarship, the applicant must be:

For more information on the NCSEA Young Member Group Support Committee, visit the Young Member Group page of the NCSEA website.

If you are applying for this scholarship, please wait to register. If you do not receive the scholarship, please contact us and we will register you for the early bird rate.

NCSEA Young Member Groups are encouraged to submit their activities and events. Please contact Maher Eltarhoni if you have any questions.

Volunteering for a NCSEA Committee

Thank you for your interest in NCSEA committee involvement!  Please review the NCSEA website at to gain a better understanding of each Committee. This will also help you determine where you can make the biggest difference. You must be a member of an NCSEA Member Organization or an NCSEA Corporate Member in order to be a member of an NCSEA Committee.

Promotion of your firm brings in business and allows others in the AEC industries to know you are actively engaged in your profession.  The NCSEA 'Spotlight' assists in doing that.  Each Sustaining Member is featured on the NCSEA website as a 'Spotlight.'  As you complete the submission, please be prepared to share some basic information as well as photos of your key individual, most notable project and your company logo.

NCSEA would love to hear about your SEA! Have you hosted an event recently that you'd like to share with the rest of the organization? Maybe you're hosting an upcoming event, rewarding scholarships, or you're just proud of your SEA's recent efforts and want them featured in Structural Connection or NCSEA News. Please let us know! Just complete this form & hit submit, it is that easy to share news about your SEA.

Also, remember to add your upcoming events to NCSEA's Calendar. Visit this link and fill out the details of your event. 

NCSEA is seeking nominations for its national Board of Directors with terms beginning April 1, 2021.  You can help the Council fulfill its mission and vision by nominating an exemplary practicing structural engineer within your Member Organization.

  • Use this form to securely submit your nomination for the Treasurer or Director positions.
  • You must be a valid member of one of the 44 Member Organizations to nominate.  
  • Individuals may self-nominate.

  For the current list of the NCSEA Board of Directors, visit: